The sad thing was it wasn’t just one bad call at the end of the game, but at least a half dozen horrible calls before we get to the Hail Mary.
Before we even get to the catch there was a blatant offensive pass interference call, but I get it they never call that even though they should have.
To be clear here is the rule for a simultaneous catch.
If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.
The second part of that sentence is what applies here, M.D. Jennings had control first, so nothing that Golden Tate does after that matters.
It is why the replacement refs got the call wrong.
Lasting image of the game…….
Just in case NFL takes down Youtube.