Russell Wilson Hail Mary TD to Golden Tate; Should Have Been Packers INT (Video) | Robert Littal Presents BlackSportsOnline

Russell Wilson Hail Mary TD to Golden Tate; Should Have Been Packers INT (Video)

by Robert Littal | Posted on Tuesday, September 25th, 2012
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail this to someoneShare on RedditShare on Google+

The sad thing was it wasn’t just one bad call at the end of the game, but at least a half dozen horrible calls before we get to the Hail Mary.

Before we even get to the catch there was a blatant offensive pass interference call, but I get it they never call that even though they should have.

To be clear here is the rule for a simultaneous catch.

If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.

The second part of that sentence is what applies here, M.D. Jennings had control first, so nothing that Golden Tate does after that matters.

It is why the replacement refs got the call wrong.

http://youtu.be/8tXhPOJaZvI

Lasting image of the game…….

Just in case NFL takes down Youtube.

About the Author

Founder of BlackSportsOnline and BonaFide Media. @BSO. Email Robert

Displaying 12 Comments
Add Your Comment
  1. Fred Gibson says:

    Bah… one can argue both established control. Defender is just higher. Nothing shows one had more control than the other. Both get greedy hands on it and both come down with control. Tie goes to the runner…If anything… offensive pass interference.

  2. Eric R. says:

    fred, you are 100% wrong. jennings clearly had possession of the ball

    • Steve says:

      Eric: You, sir, are 100% correct with your statement. MD Jennings clearly had the ball. Watch him as he: Times his jump, Get great extention, Grab the ball in his gloved hands, light-colored palms very visable, Bring the ball into his chest while tumbling to the ground, Maintains possession and control of the ball dispite Golden trying to pull it out of his arms but never does.
      Conclusion: MD Jennings interception! No other decision is possible.

  3. A.C says:

    I didn’t see the “blatant offensive pass interference” Those are “jump ball” situations but whatever. That was a GB pick and a blown call. GB should have beaten them by at least 14. Go ahead and blame the replacements refs for that.

    The Giants took GB’s mojo last year. Blame the replacement refs for that too.

  4. Jake says:

    Well, if anyone one of you knew what the rules of the NFL are, you would know it was simultanious possesion. M.D Jennings brings the ball into his hands BUT when Tate gets his hands on the ball Jenning’s feet are still in the air, therefore he dosen’t have possesion of the ball. When both feet come down they both have their hands on the ball, Touchdown for Seahawks.

  5. Dats Racist! says:

    Awesome site… “Black Sports Online.”

    Wonder how much shhit I would catch if I started up “White Sports Online”

    Double standard much?

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current ye@r *


BlackSportsOnline
BSO Privacy Policy