Heisman Trophy Finalist Announced: BSO Picks A Winner

The Heisman Trophy will be presented on Saturday night, and the five finalist have been announced.

This should be one of the closest races in a few years, with no clear-cut winner etched in stone.

I present you the 5 Heisman Memorial Trophy Finalist.

1. Johnny Manziel-qb-Texas A&M

As I said several times before, It’s truly amazing that Manziel was that close to being kicked off the team this past summer for being involved in a  street fight.  Manziel remained at A&M, and racked up one of the greatest freshman seasons in NCAA history.   Johnny football had 3,419 passing yards, and 24 touchdowns.  Add on 1,181 rushing yards and 19 touchdowns and you have over 4,600 total yards and 43 total touchdowns.   Oh yea don’t forget the huge upset over then #1 Alabama and the most wins for Texas A&M since 1998.


2. Manti Te’o-lb-Notre Dame

Where do you start with Te’o.  He’s the heart of the Irish defense, a tackling and interception machine, and bona-fide top 10 pick in the 2013 NFL Draft.  Manti Te’o had 103 total tackles and 7 huge interceptions which is unheard of for a linebacker.


3. Colin Klein-qb-Kansas State

You can say it was Klein’s award until that fateful loss to Baylor a few weeks ago.  Klein can be commended for leading Kansas State back to national prominence and a Fiesta Bowl birth.  Klein had an efficient  2,490 passing yards, 890 rushing yards and combined 37 touchdowns to help Kansas State win the Big 12 title for the first time since 2003.


4. Marquise Lee-wr-USC

The Southern Cal wide receiver is somewhat of a surprise to people but definitely should be here.  The all-purpose dynamo is not the reason Southern Cal disappointed this season.  Lee led USC with 112 receptions, 1,680 yards and 14 touchdowns. Lee also averaged 8.8 yards per carry, had close to 1,000 kickoff return yards, and oh yea made two tackles on defense.


5. Braxton Miller-qb-Ohio State

Miller quietly has been dark horse candidate all season for the undefeated Buckeyes.  If not for Ohio State being on probation Miller might actually have a shot of winning the award.  Miller was fabulous early on and got himself some momentum for this opportunity.  Miller passed for 2,039 yards and 15 touchdowns.  Miller also rushed for 1,271 yards and 13 touchdowns.  Braxton Miller had a total yardage of 3,310 and 28 total touchdowns.


This is a good hard-working group, and it makes it even better, because I expect Manziel and Miller to again fight it out for this same Heisman Trophy next season.

This season in my opinion it can’t go to anyone but Johnny Manziel.     Johnny Football has taken the college football world by storm, but has also done it in an efficient manner for A&M.

Johnny Manziel will be the first freshman to win the Heisman Memorial Trophy.


One thought on “Heisman Trophy Finalist Announced: BSO Picks A Winner

  • No Jadveon Clowney. Kind of a surprise.

Comments are closed.