Butler, Creighton and Xavier Join Catholic 7 To Officially Form New Big East


The New Big East basketball conference is set, and in a basketball sense, it’s pretty loaded.

ESPN is reporting that Butler, Creighton and Xavier will join the Catholic 7 schools of Georgetown, Villanova, Marquette, St. John’s, Providence, Seton Hall and DePaul.

Butler and Xavier are leaving the Atlantic 10, and Creighton will departs the Missouri Valley Conference.  Atlantic 10 commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade released a statement on the matter.

“The Atlantic 10 conference’s partnerships with Butler and Xavier have “been mutually beneficial and successful.”

“I wish Xavier University and Butler University all the best in their new conference,” the statement said. “They are two outstanding universities with outstanding people.”

McGlade said the A-10 had “anticipated this move and are prepared to proactively move forward.”

“As a longtime strong A-10 member, Xavier’s departure is unfortunate,” McGlade said in the news release. “Butler’s departure is a by-product of the chaotic conference realignment environment. BU’s association with the A-10 has been a fun ride this year; no regrets from the Atlantic 10 for providing a home for them during the 2012-13 season.”

From a basketball ball standpoint, it may not be the old Big East or the ACC, but it is a pretty good conference.