Former Big East Conference is now the American Athletic Conference | BlackSportsOnline

Former Big East Conference is now the American Athletic Conference

by Robert Littal | Posted on Thursday, April 4th, 2013
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail this to someoneShare on RedditShare on Google+

Allen Iverson Georgetown

So many teams changing conferences it is hard to keep up.

Rivalries and traditions that most of us have held dear to our hearts, are no more. He is how the new AAC will look.

The American Athletic Conference is the new name for the former Big East Conference.

The old Big East needed a new conference name because the Catholic 7 schools — DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John’s and Villanova — kept the Big East name when they announced they were splitting and forming their new league.

The new 10-team Big East begins July 1 with the Catholic 7 schools, plus Butler, Creighton and Xavier.

Besides the Catholic 7 schools leaving, the league also loses Notre Dame, Pittsburgh and Syracuse to the ACC on July 1. In 2014, Louisville (ACC) and Rutgers (Big Ten) also depart.

To compensate for those defections, the American Athletic Conference will add full members UCF, Houston, Memphis and SMU on July 1; East Carolina, Tulane and Tulsa on July 1, 2014; and football-only member Navy on July 1, 2015.

About the Author

Founder & Editor in Chief of BlackSportsOnline & BSO Entertainment The Ohio State University Alum & Dollarnaire for Life

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

BSO Privacy Policy