Report: Big Ten to Create East & West Divisions in 2014

Big Ten



When the Big Ten announced that they would create divisions to be named ‘Leaders’ & ‘Legends’, it was met by almost unanimous dislike. It appears the conference got the memo and will go with the always more traditional conference split based on location in 2014.

Minnesota, Wisconsin, Nebraska, Illinois, Northwestern, Iowa and Purdue will make up the west conference while Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers and Maryland will be the east. Reportedly, University chancellors and presidents are expected to approve the changes next week.

Just by the eyeball test the east division looks to be the much tougher side of the conference as the likes of Michigan, Ohio State, and Michigan State all will call that division home. Wisconsin and Nebraska fans should be celebrating. They now have a much easier path to the Big Ten Conference Championship with the big boys in the other division.