Marlins Jose Fernandez & Rays Wil Myers win Rookie of the Year Awards



According to a story via ESPN, Tampa Bay Rays outfielder Wil Myers and Miami Marlins pitcher Jose Fernandez have both taken Rookie of the Year honors for the 2013 season.

Fernandez stood out in a very deep National League class, and the pitcher received 26 of 30 first-place votes from a Baseball Writers’ Association of America panel. His debut season was so superb that he’s one of three finalists for the NL Cy Young Award, with the winner to be announced Wednesday.

Myers took home the American League prize after putting up impressive offensive numbers in barely half a season. The right fielder was chosen first on 23 of 30 ballots, beating out Detroit shortstop Jose Iglesias and Rays teammate Chris Archer.

The fact that Fernandez beat out Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig so easily just goes to show you how dominant he was for the terrible Marlins. Myers on the other hand started the season in the minors but came up in June and helped propel the Rays to the playoffs as a wildcard team.