Lebron James Named AP Male Athlete of the Year | BlackSportsOnline

LeBron James Named AP 2013 Male Athlete of the Year

by BSO Staff | Posted on Thursday, December 26th, 2013
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail this to someoneShare on RedditShare on Google+

LeBron James block on Kemba Walker.

After winning his second NBA championship and his fourth MVP award, Miami Heat superstar LeBron James has been named AP’s 2013 Male Athlete of the Year, becoming just the third basketball player to win the award in its 83-year history and the first one to win in 20 years.

LeBron James received 31 of the 96 votes cast in a polling of news organizations while Peyton Manning finished second receiving 20 votes. Jimmie Johnson was third with seven and 15 other athletes received at least one vote.

James joins Michael Jordan and Larry Bird as the only NBA players to win the award. Jordan won in 1991, 1992 and 1993. Bird won in 1986. Serena Williams won the AP’s Female Athlete of the Year award. Congratulations to LeBron James.

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

BSO Privacy Policy