Finalists For World Cup Awards Announced | BlackSportsOnline

Messi, Neymar Highlight WC Best Player Award Nominations

by Zack Williford | Posted on Friday, July 11th, 2014
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail this to someoneShare on RedditShare on Google+

Messi Neymar

Argentina’s Lionel Messi and  Brazil’s injured superstar, Neymar are two of the possible ten finalists for the World Cup’s best player award (similar to NBA Finals MVP), according to Yahoo sports.

Seven of the ten players up for consideration represent Argentina and Germany; the two teams vying for the right to be called the finest futbol nation on the globe. Messi; along with teammates Angel Di Maria and Javier Mascherano play for Argentina while Germany boasts four players from their talented roster: Mats Hummels, Toni Kroos, Philipp Lahm and Thomas Mueller. The tournament’s top scorer; Columbia’s James Rodriguez and Arjen Robben of the Netherlands, complete the nominations. The winner is to be selected by the FIFA technical group and will be announced after the final match, Sunday at 3 PM est.

Manuel Neuer of Germany and Sergio Romero of Argentina are joined by Costa Rica’s Keylor Navas as the three-man finalists for goalkeeper of the year, and Memphis Depay of the Netherlands, and France pair Paul Pogba and Raphael Varane round out the list of candidates for best young player.

[h/t Yahoo]

About the Author

Zack Williford-Webb is from Buffalo, New York. Avid sports lover and truth teller

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

BSO Privacy Policy