KD Says No to All-Star Game Team Captain, While Curry Says Why Not

 With new changes to the NBA All-Star Game format determining that the leading vote recipient in each conference will be named captain and get the chance to divide the teams.

Things could get pretty interesting, the possibilities are endless.

Who wouldn’t want to be an All-Star Game team captain right? KD. Yep, Kevin Durant . Not to trilled about the chance to be team captain Durant says he doesn’t want the hassle. He’d rather just play the game.

According to The Athletic, the Golden State Warriors’ Kevin Durant doesn’t want to be a captain, while teammate Stephen Curry would be happy to do it.

I mean hey, can you blame KD for not wanting to be captain? When asked Durant said,

“I don’t want to do it,” Durant told The Athletic. “I’d rather somebody else do it. It’s cool to be an All-Star, but all the extra stuff … I just want to go play in the game. (The new format)’s cool, a different way, a creative way that’s good for the fans. But me, I’ll let somebody else pick the teams.”

When Curry was asked his thoughts on begin an All-Star Team captain his response was pretty different,

“Why not?” Curry said of taking on captaincy. “I’ll be the first to usher in the new system. I used to go to the playground all the time, and you wanted to be the guy picking teams. That meant you were something on the court back in the day. It’ll be a cool vibe to see how it all shakes out and how unique you can make the lineups.”

The All-Star starters and the two captains will be announced on Jan. 18, with the NBA coaches choosing the reserves by Jan. 23. The full rosters will be revealed on Jan. 25th.

Kevin and Curry are a good distance ahead of the rest of the possible captains, meaning one of the two will likely end up taking the role as captain.

The Eastern Conference race is a lot more interesting with LeBron James beating out Kyrie Irving and Giannis Antetokounmpo.

Looks like we will just have to keep a close eye on the numbers to see just who becomes this year’s All-Star Team captains.