B1G Baseball Tournament Championship Game Recap

Big Ten Baseball Championship

#1 Seed Indiana Hoosier vs #2 Seed Nebraska Cornhuskers

The setting could not have been better for the B1G Championship Game as 19,965 fans packed TD Ameritrade Park. That attendance number was a NCAA record for a conference championship game in any conference. The 61,978 number for all sessions attended was 5x more than the previous mark for B1G conference tournament. With all these fans here for Nebraska, Indiana jumped out to an early lead behind the 61st career double for Dustin Demuth, which tied IU record. That double drove in two. The Hoosiers quickly added a second run in bottom of the 2nd on wild pitch. The Huskers rallied in the top of the 5th to tie but as IU has done all year, they struck back when Kyle Schwarber smoked one to right field for a HR. Then the Hoosiers busted the game open in the bottom of the 6th with three runs. An error by Huskers SS Reveles helped and Schwarber smacked an RBI single. Huskers threatened a in the top 7th but could only manage one run. Then this happened:

B1G Tarp

There was a 42 minute rain delay, but not even that could save the Huskers. The Hoosiers added another run in the bottom of the 8th for good measure. The Indiana lineup is scary top to bottom as the Big Ten player of the year Sam Travis went 0-4 on the day and they still won 8-4. The Hoosier won their second straight B1G title and looks poised to make another run to Omaha for the College World Series.

Indiana Hoosiers Big Ten Baseball Champs

2014 Big Ten All-Tournament Team

P – Christian Morris, Indiana

P -Aaron Bummer, Nebraska

P – Kyle Kubat, Nebraska

C – Joel Fisher, Michigan State

1B – Dan Olinger, Minnesota

2B -Casey Rodrigue, Indiana

2B – Pat Kelly, Nebraska

SS – Travis Maezes, Michigan

3B – Dustin DeMuth, Indiana

DH -Scott Donley, Indiana

OF – Kyle Schwarber, Indiana

OF – Cam Gibson, Michigan State

OF – Ryan Boldt, Nebraska

Most Outstanding Player: Kyle Schwarber, Indiana

[Photos curtesy of the Big Ten]